NEWS

Octavia Spencer Lands Starring Role In “Murder She Wrote” Reboot

By  | 

Wow! We’re happy to see the sisters getting some love from the major networks. HipHollywood has learned that actress Octavia Spencer will be starring in a reboot of the Angela Lansbury classic detective drama, Murder She Wrote.

Desperate Housewives alum Alexandra Cunningham and David Janollari will produce the series, with Cunningham also serving as the scribe.

According to Deadline, the show is being described as a “light, contemporary procedural in the vein of Bones or Fargo. It follows a hospital administrator and amateur sleuth (Spencer) who self-publishes her first mystery novel. Set in a day where sensational headlines inundate the news, this woman’s avid fascination with true crime leads her to become an active participant in the investigations.”

The original Murder She Wrote aired on CBS from 1984-1996 and is considered one of the most successful shows in history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *